Search for content in message boards

Northern Ireland/Irish Free State - 1930 US Census

Replies: 6

Re: Northern Ireland/Irish Free State - 1930 US Census

Posted: 11 Jan 2003 2:52AM GMT
Classification: Query
Edited: 7 Sep 2003 2:13AM GMT
Sorry, You are incorrect. Maybe a little history will clarify. The entire island of Ireland is historically divided into 4 provinces (Ulster, Leinster, Munster and Connaught). Each province contains a number of counties. The counties in Ulster are Donegal, Derry (otherwise Londonderry), Antrim, Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh, Down, Cavan and Monaghan. When British rule over all of the island of Ireland ceased circa 1920, with the formation of the Irish Free State, six of the above counties (Derry, Antrim, Armagh, Tyrone, Fermanagh and Down) were retained, and still are, under British rule. The remaining three counties, including Donegal, became part of the Irish Free State, which was subsequently renamed the Republic of Ireland (or Eire in Gaelic). There are twenty-six counties in total in the Republic of Ireland, including the three Ulster counties.
The six counities are generally referred to as Northern Ireland. In pursuing records, those for the six counties are generally held in Belfast, or London, while those for the twenty-six counties of the Republic (including Donegal) are generally held in Dublin.
Hoping this clarifies matters.
Donal Friel
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
The_Irish_Las... 9 Jan 2003 4:32PM GMT 
packet12 10 Jan 2003 10:05PM GMT 
@@dfriel@esat... 11 Jan 2003 9:52AM GMT 
ShirleyCoffey... 11 Jan 2003 10:34AM GMT 
@@dfriel@esat... 12 Jan 2003 9:34AM GMT 
ShirleyCoffey... 12 Jan 2003 9:00PM GMT 
@@dfriel@esat... 13 Jan 2003 8:34PM GMT 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic