Search for content in message boards

McELLIGOTT

Replies: 3

McELLIGOTT

Posted: 27 Nov 1998 5:00AM GMT
Classification: Query
Edited: 22 Nov 2003 4:44PM GMT
Surnames: McELLIGOTT, ELLIGOT, ELLIGET, MAHAFFEY, ROACH, ROCHE

I have been researching my Irish connections for nearly three years with very little success. I don't know exactly how my relatives here connect with those in Kerry, I'm still trying to piece that together. The ones here went by the name ELLIGET. Thank god an old great aunt told me many years ago that they came from the Kerry County McELLIGOTTS, or I never would have figured it out. They migrated from Ireland at least before 1845, because that is when John ELLIGET was born. (If his place of birth is accurate) (See chart below.)

My ELLIGET family migrated: from Ireland to Canada to NY, OH, MI.

I am wondering if you have any information about these McELLIGOTTs?

I have been working so long on this line with no luck.

I appreciate any help you can give me.

Bill Brauker / billbrauk@aol.com

This is what I have:

Descendants of Patrick Elliget

Generation No. 1

1. PATRICK1 ELLIGET was born in Ireland. He married MARY.

Notes for PATRICK ELLIGET:
Birthplace also listed on one document as Scotland.

According to my great aunt, the ELLIGET family descends from the MacELLIGOTTS of Kerry County, Ireland.

In Kerry County on the Dingle Peninsula, in the 1834-5 Census, there is a Patt McEllegett listed, living at Lateeve More, Kilmalkeda. In the 1851-2 Griffith's Valuationr, a Patrick McElligott is listed, living at Lateeve More, Kilmalkedar.

The book "Families of County Kerry" - says this about MacELLIGOTT.

Mac Elligott (it's listed under the letter 'E')