Search for content in message boards

MacDonald's in Giant's Grave, Wales late 1700 - early 1800s

Replies: 2

MacDonald's in Giant's Grave, Wales late 1700 - early 1800s

Posted: 23 Mar 2014 2:29PM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: MacDonald
I have been researching my family’s heritage for the last two years using the information obtained from my relatives over the years and am trying to tie up a loose end.

My 2nd Great Grandmother was a woman named Eliza Jane MacDonald. She was born in Giant’s Grave, Briton Ferry, South Wales on 1 Dec 1863. She traveled on the Passenger Ship “Servia” in 1887 with Alfred John Bannister, who was born in Tewkesbury, England on Sep 1865 but also resided in Briton Ferry, South Wales. The two married and settled in Pueblo, Colorado, United States

Eliza’s family was rather large with three brothers and three sisters. Most of them would eventually settle in Colorado, with the exception of two sisters, who remained in England. Their names were:

John Charles (5 Jul 1851 Giant’s Grave, Wales – 8 Feb 1914 Pueblo, Colorado)
Annie Maria (6 Aug 1853 Giant’s Grave, Wales – 28 Sep 1918 Pueblo, Colorado)
Sarah (Jul 1856 Giant’s Grave, Wales – 21 Oct 1943 Giant’s Grave, Wales)
Janet (1859 Giant’s Grave – 11 Jan 1861 Giant’s Grave, Wales)
Alexander (Apr 1866 Giant’s Grave, Wales – 1952 Pueblo, Colorado)
Colin Northy (2 Sep 1868 Giant’s Grave, Wales – 30 Nov 1958 Pueblo, Colorado)

Her parents were John F. MacDonald and Jane Leswell. John was born in Trescastle, Wales in 1825 and passed away in Pueblo, Colorado on 3 Apr 1897. Jane was born in Goldhanger, England on 29 Mar 1828 and passed away in Giant’s Grave on 29 Mar 1883.