Around 1804, the picturesque valley of Patrick's Cove, then know as Devil's Cove was settled by a young man from County Tipperary, Ireland. Bartholomew McGrath made this sheltered cove his home, and following his marriage to Catherine Ryan from North Harbour, raised his family of four sons and three daughters there.
When Bartley arrived in Newfoundland he had no background in fishing, being a farmer by profession. However, by 1849 he was going to sea on the bankers (fishing vessels) and his sons had learned to build boats and were beginning to fish locally. By 1845 there were four small skiffs at Patrick's Cove, and as the years passed the number grew to seventeen. At the peak of the fishing season, men came from the Barasways and Point Verd to assist. These were called 'summer men', they came to help and in exchange for services they received food and free board. Today, those who fish, do so out of St. Bride's.
The name Devil's Cove, was changed to Patrick's Cove by Bartholomew's son Bartley on the occasion of the birth of his son, Patrick. The name has help through the years and just about every family in Patrick's Cove with the surname McGrath has a son named Patrick. In the 1800's Patrick's Cove had all McGrath living there.