Search for content in message boards

Collins/Colín, Marrón, Arballo, Cosío, García, Róbinson, Arce...

Replies: 30

Collins/Colín, Marrón, Arballo, Cosío, García, Róbinson, Arce...

Posted: 2 Jan 2003 11:29PM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: Collins, Colin, Marron, Arballo, Cosio, Garcia, Robinson, Arce
Greetings to all . . . I am a newbie at genealogy research. I just recently started to look up my g-grandmother's family in Baja California (they were all over the peninsula) through the book "Guia Familiar de Baja California" by Pablo L. Martínez. I've run into a few dead-ends, though. Here is my long-winded summary of what I have:

Collins and Robinson have interesting origins . . . apparently, John Collins and Peter Robinson were both English sailors on a whaling ship in the early 19th cent., and when they docked somewhere in BC Sur, they and a few other fellows deserted their crew. They all assimilated into Californio society; becoming Catholic, taking on Spanish names, and marrying Californian women. The former, born in London on June 24, 1796, was baptized as Juan Bautista Montaño (but mostly used the name Juan Colin), married Maria Loreto Marrón, had kids from around 1825 to 1853, and died in Miraflores in 1866. The latter became Pedro Róbinson, and married Vicenta García (no record of her family so far...and García must be one of the most common names anywhere, so I don't know where I'm going to find anything there...).