Search for content in message boards

Hammons/Hammonds

Replies: 4

Re: Hammons/Hammonds

Posted: 4 Sep 2013 10:26PM GMT
Classification: Query
Hello,
Thank you so much for the information you posted on my Hammons. I have been tracing this family line for over 30 years and every tidbit helps. I have long suspected the Haston's first name was John.
According to family lore John C. Hammons, Haston's and Sally's son was always called "Little John". I have never been able to find any document that showed John C's middle name. You have as Cleveland, which is interesting since John C. Hammons and Catherine Morgan had a son named Daniel Cleveland Hammons. As a side note. Kittie Morgan Hammons was the daughter of Daniel P. Morgan and Susan Margaret Thompson of Sumner Co., TN. By all accounts Daniel P. Morgan was quite a character. He is part of the Morgan line from Sumner Co., TN.

Haston and Sally Hammons son Martin Mark C. Hammons was born 3 Nov 1860 and died 2 March 1899. He was married to Margaret Ellen P. McMillen. After his death she married Elbert Feaster and when he died she married John C. Hammons, brother of Martin Hammons his brother. They later divorced and he married Mary Malinda Robertson,

I have never been able to find any info on the other children of John C. and Kittie Morgan Hammons. I know that again according to family lore that tuberuloisis (sp) was very bad in this line.

In looking over my notes I'm afraid I don't see in any of the census records a Sarah/Sally Hammons, older sister to Nancy.

1850 Jackson County, Alabama Census Distict 19 12/3/1850 55/99
Hammons Horton 24 M Farmer Unknown (1826)
Hammons Sarah 23 F Unknown (1827)
Hammons Nancy 3 F Alabama
Hammons John 2/12 M Alabama

1860 Mo Census for Benton County, Warsaw Twp. pg. 237-238 shows MO22946142
Aston Hammond 37 North Carolina (1823)
Sarah 32 Alabama (1828)
Nancy 12 Alabama
John 9 Alabama
Patience 6 MO
Francis 4 MO
Mark 1 MO