Search for content in message boards

Plantation Documents of William Copeland Sr. Harris County, GA

Replies: 33

Re: CookingLoverXOX

Posted: 8 Jun 2010 4:41AM GMT
Classification: Query
GOOD MORNING MARGARET,

OMG! I just finished going over the board and couldn't believe a circus came to town with a clown included. I didn't mean to get a flame started when I replied to your post. But I'm sure someone was helped by the very well documented research you provided.

Thank you for your warm wishes and words of encouragement, I really appreciate them. Although it's been almost ten years now, I still can't get over the fact that I spent all that time researching people who did not share any common ancestry with me all because I was a novice and acted on some information given to me by someone I believed to be a distant relative but wasn't.

And it didn't help matters that I was just starting out and didn't know how to interpret data, read census records, or locate good solid evidence. I thought I was having some type of self identity crisis when I found out I was headed in the wrong direction. And let's not even talk about the money spent or the amount of time it took for me to get back on track. The upside was that I was able to donate the research to the local historical society knowing that some family researching the same ancestors could use it.

Anyway, another person saw some of your material and was quite impressed with what they saw. They're interested in discussing some professional research consulting. If you're interested, just let g know.

Like you, I'm pretty done here so I'll close with some words of wisdom my grandmother shared with me:

"Those who truly seek the truth will eventually find it. While those who wish to be mislead (and continue to live in a fools paradise), will accept any information (true or untrue) that is offered to them. The path they choose to take is entirely up to them and them "alone".

It may be a shame but it's a fact of life.