Written by Miss Viola Sellers of Prof. Allen's school.
Sebree's first name was McLEROY's Gap, later on, in eighteen hundred and sixty-eight, it was laid out by William SCOTT and Mr. SEBREE, and named Spring Dale but on account of there being another town in this State by that name it was changed to Sebree, in 1869, in honor of its founder.
The L. & N.R.R. was completed in 1865. Sebree now has a nice depot, situated on the east side of the railroad. She also can boast of having a night and a day operator which other towns of its size are unable to do. It also has a nice telephone which was put up in 1895.
The first house was a log cabin occupied by George CARTER, a colored man. It is now a fifth class city and has 2,153 inhabitants.
Mr. GRIFFITH kept the first store which consisted of a few canned goods.
At this writing it contains five brick store buildings and several frame ones.
Field WILLINGHAM built the first factory and J.D. ROBERTS bought the first tobacco. The tobacco business has grown from one factory to five and Sebree now stands at the top as a tobacco market.
James CALDWELL built the first livery stable in 1877. Our town now contains two owned by reliable men.
The first mill was built by C.N. SINGER in 1872. We now have one large mill owned by J.B. RAMSEY.
The bank, which is a handsome building, was erected in 1889, and has a capital stock of $25,000.
The first blacksmith shop was built in 1889 by J.H. SIZEMORE, now there are two.
Sebree at present has forty business houses. It now has four churches the first, the Christian, was erected in 1870. The second was the Catholic, in 1880; the third the Methodist in 1882; and the Missionary Baptists, in 1894.
The churches are all represented by a good, large membership.
In 1872, the first school was taught by M.A. PRATT. The present school building is a beautiful one, consisting of three rooms, one hall, and a school room.
In this building is taught an excellent school, under the principalship of Prof. W.Y. ALLEN, with Misses BUCKNER and BEARD, assistants.
Another thing Sebree can boast of is a handsome courthouse which is a rarity in any town of its size, (except the County Seat). This building was erected in 1895 and cost about $4,000. Just outside of the incorporation is located a fine spring of Chalybeate water which is not only a healthful resort, but one of pleasure. People flock from all directions in the summer to enjoy its health giving properties. All around the spring is a beautiful grove and much picturesque scenery. The spring is owned by Mr. G.L. DIAL, who has erected a fine hotel on the hill just above the spring.
Just outside of town is located a good coal mine, which furnishes our town with fuel of an excellent quality. This mine is managed by some of the best citizens of our town.
Again, a twenty-five minutes' drive will take you to the beautiful navigable stream, Green River.
The cornet band is another thing Sebree should be proud of. It not only furnishes beautiful music for our town, but for several others.
Although Sebree has been prosperous she has been unfortunate in having several fires. In 1883, the south side of Main street was burned. Mr. FRANKLIN's factory in 1882, and another the latter part of the same year, and yet another in 1896, but each time she has rebuilt the burnt districts with better buildings.
Thus you can see our town is noted for industry, education and christianity.
Sebree, Ky., December 2, 1896
(Source: Madisonville Hustler, Fri., Dec. 15, 1896)