Mt. Washington was founded in the middle of the nineteenth century as a place to escape the oppressive conditions of the city.
One of the first "street-car suburbs" of Baltimore, Mt. Washington housed some of the finer families, including H.L. Mencken, during their summer escapes. The neighborhood quickly grew into a year round community.
Before it moved to its current location in 1970, where was the Mt. Washington Post Office?
Over the years, the post office has changed locations many times as mail volume has increased. It had been at the Kelly Avenue location since 1927.
The octagonal building on Johns Hopkins’ Mt. Washington campus, originally built to house the Mt. Washington Female College, was one of many such structures built in the mid-19th century. Who was the main exponent for buildings of this design?
Orson Squire Fowler
Fowler wrote The Octagon House: A Home For All and toured the country extolling the benefits of living in an octagon. He claimed that the octagonal design was more energy efficient. His own octagonal home, built atop a hill overlooking the Hudson River, became known as Fowler’s Folly when he was forced to rent it out after falling into financial ruin.
The Mt. Washington Fire Station originally opened at 1500 Sulgrave Avenue in what year?
After the county executives in Towson repeatedly denied requests for a fire station despite losing a hotel and store to flames, the Sawerwein family donated land for a station. Ironically, the Sawerwein’s home was the next to burn – just weeks from the opening of the new fire house.
Roxbury Place, which runs between South Road and Wildwood Lane, remains a unique street in a unique neighborhood. What name did John Graham originally give the street?
The houses on Roxbury Place are modeled after the ideas of Andrew Jackson Downing, who believed that wooden structures should have a “truthfulness”, in that the building materials did not need to be obscured in order to produce an aesthetically pleasing home.
Mt. Washington was once part of Baltimore County. In what year was it annexed by Baltimore City?
Baltimore had a higher population density than that of New York at the time.
One of the reasons that Mt. Washington’s location was selected was its proximity to a rail line, allowing residents to commute to their jobs in the City. What company operated this railroad at the time?
Baltimore and Susquehanna Railroad
In 1885, sixteen trains ran from Mt. Washington into the City between 6:20 a.m. and 11:50 p.m. and sixteen trains ran from the City to Mt. Washington.
What business first occupied the Mt. Washington Tavern’s building?
James Hamilton’s General Store
The building was erected in 1891.
When Mt. Washington School No. 8 first opened in 1877, who was its first principal?
Perley Ray Lovejoy
In 1908, neighbors came together and raised enough money from private donations to cover 11% of the cost to expand the school – more than half a million of today’s dollars.
In 1950, the Mt. Washington Improvement Association faced one of its first major fights with the City. Branch 21, the Mt. Washington branch, of the Enoch Pratt Free Library was slated to be closed. Why?
The City wanted to use it as an annex for the school
The City pledged to bring a bookmobile through Mt. Washington to make up for losing the library.
What was the site of Mt. Washington’s first telephone?
Dr. Arnold’s Pharmacy
The telephone was installed 1886; it cost 15 cents to make a call and 5 cents to receive one.