Search for content in message boards

Elshaug Family

Replies: 10

Re: Elshaug Family

Posted: 13 Feb 2013 7:45AM GMT
Classification: Query
I've been doing online Norwegian research since 1997, first for my husband's family, then my own, and then helping others using what I've learned.

I see that the Rindal Bygdeboks, the farm and family history books for the parish of Rindal, which is organized by farm, and then lists the families who lived on those farms, usually back to 1600's in most bygdeboks - those books are online digitally BUT only for people who have a computer IP address which originates in Norway. (that's what the directions say in Norwegian) so I wasn't able to open it.

Here is the link anyway, in case a Norwegian answers your query at Møre og Romsdal message board here on Ancestry.com, you can ask them to look.
http://slekt1.com/nb/digitale-bygdeboker?catid=7652

I'm not sure which volume Elshaug farm is in, but the last volume is a farm and name register (index) for all of the first 4 volumes.

In a previous post, I gave you the names and call numbers of all of the books, so maybe you can go to your local library and see if any of them would be available in an interlibrary loan. University of North Dakota in Grand Forks has the books, but maybe only for use at their facility. Other bygdebok collections might exist - I know University of Minnesota in Minneapolis has a collection, and St. Olaf College in southern Minnesota, and U of Wisconsin.

The best thing to do is find a Norwegian with the books.

I did find online that Volume 2 is the one you would need to start with, at Elshaug.
Book title:
Rindal gards- og ættesoge, bind 2
© Nasjonalbiblioteket.
utgitt 1999. (published 1999)
(Gårds- og slektshistorie for Rindal, Rindalsholt, Landsem, Elshaug, Grønli, Fosseide, Nedre Øyen, Holte, Stor-Tiset, Furuhaug, Lille-Tiset, Bakken, Negård, Litjåsen)