Search for content in message boards

SALAZAR, CORDOVA, BACA, OR VACA, and especially PELACHE

Replies: 2

SALAZAR, CORDOVA, BACA, OR VACA, and especially PELACHE

Posted: 7 May 2008 2:53AM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: SALAZAR, CORDOVA, BACA, OR VACA, and especially PELACHE
I am new to genealogy and I love it! When I find a missing piece of the puzzle, I am thrilled! Well, folks, I have not been thrilled in quite some time! Proudly, I can trace my Martinez-Martin-Martin Serrano line back to Jerez de Badajoz, Spain 1464. I was elated to get that far back.

Now I am looking for some other (likely)-founding families of New Mexico by the names of Salazar (and/or de Salazar), Cordova, and Baca (Vaca, perhaps in the Cabeza de Vaca line).

The other surname which may have originated in Montenegro, Czechoslovakia, or the Austrian Empire or some other east European country is: Pelache. It looks like none of those, too.

Now - I have scoured through census records and used several gen sites only to come up with a whole lot of nothing.

Teresa BACA born 1841 married Antonio Jose Martinez, nephew of the famous Padre Martinez. Teresa's mother was Candelaria (no maiden name available) born in NM. Teresa & Antonio's son Malaquias Martinez was my great grandfather. I doubt if Teresa is a C de Vaca but I suppose she could be.

James J SALAZAR (an hispanic with an anglicized name in 19th century New Mexico - WHY??) married Rita CORDOVA. They were the parents of my great grandmother, Matilda Salazar who married Malaquias Martinez.

It appears that Rita Cordova and James Salazar were dead by the time Matilda was 18. In a census record she is listed with her little sister and brother as head of household. Matilda's older sister Josefa married the brother of Malaquias, Carlos. They lived very close by.