Search for content in message boards

Hales in Sevier County

Replies: 2

Hales in Sevier County

Posted: 16 Jan 2005 1:35PM GMT
Classification: Query
Edited: 10 Nov 2006 7:02AM GMT
I have some further information on the tangled tales of Hales in Sevier County. I’ve been researching a few of them for a couple of years now and they’re finally beginning to make a little bit of sense.

We begin with Gie Hale and his wife Rachel Boling Hale.

According to census data Guy (var. Gie, Gusse, Genus, Gil, etc.) was born 1804-1808 in Cocke County, TN. I haven’t definitively proven who his parents were but my working theory is that his father was GUY S. HAILE who was born about 1765, the son of Abednego HAILE (1741-1802) and Johanna SMITH (dates unknown). An entry on the hales.org website (a well done collection of info on parts of the Hale/Haile/Hales lines) shows:

Abednego Hale married Johanna Smith, daughter of Guy Smith of Bedford County, VA, sourced from the book, "Roots in Virginia." (Nathaniel Claiborne Hale pub. 1948)
Another entry gives further information:
From http://www.hales.org/ha01.htm

Abednego HALE(S)
Born 12 AUG 1741 in Maryland the son of Nicholas HALE(S) and Ann LONG.
Married about 1762 Johannah SMITH.

Children:
F- Mary HAILE;born 1763 in Washington County, Tennessee.
M- Guy HAILE; born 1765 in Washington County, Tennessee.
M- Bird HAILE; born 1766 in Washington County, Tennessee.
M- Abednego HAILE; born 1768 in Washington County, Tennessee.
M- Phillip HAILE; born 1770 in Washington County, Tennessee.