Search for content in message boards

Reed Dickerson b: abt 1718 died War of 1812 15 Oct 1814 at Norfolk

Replies: 4

Re: Reed Dickerson b: abt 1718 died War of 1812 15 Oct 1814 at Norfolk

Posted: 7 Mar 2012 2:24PM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: Dickerson
I am a Dickerson Researcher and nothing makes me happier than seeing your questions about Reed Dickerson and also about the two Susannahs. I have done research about Reed in the Montgomery County Court House in Christiansburg, VA. I must tell you that this early period has many big questions and a lot is conjecture. I will share two of the documents that I found about Reed. Please e-mail me at Kasialido@aol.com as there is much more. I would like to see the letter showing the last name Gander. I had assumed this, but it is good to see better evidence.

Order Book 18 Page 314 1811-1813(Montgomery County)
On the motion of Susannah Dickenson and Dan'l Spangler who made oath as the law directs with Security entered into an acknowledged Bond, conditioned as the law directs. Certificate is granted them for obtaining letters of administration on the Estate of Reed Dickenson Dec'd.
Page 18
Ordered that Ebenezer Watkins, David Moore, James Thompson, and Richard Wells ??? of them being first sworn do appraise the personal estate of Reed Dickenson Dec'd. and Certify such their appraisement to court."

Will Book 2 page 371 Montgomery County, VA
Feb. 29, 1816
Reed Dickerson Appraisment
Witness - David Spangler
Names right hand corner-Ebinezer Watkins, James Thompson, Richard Wells.

In March of 1816 the Montgomery Court an ordered appraisement of the estate of Reed Dickerson dec'd. The appraisement was done by Ebenezer Watkins, James Thomson, Richard Wells. It was recorded in March of 1816. The appraisement was dated February 29, 1816. It was also signed by Daniel Spangler.
APPRAISAL TOTAL: 3 pounds 11 shillings and 6 pence.

Court Order Book 19 Page 94 - 1816-1817