Search for content in message boards

Pregnancy Before Marriage in Denmark discussion

Replies: 10

Re: Pregnancy Before Marriage in Denmark discussion

Posted: 1 Aug 2013 12:48PM GMT
Classification: Query
Edited: 1 Aug 2013 5:27PM GMT
We'd like to help....Problem is a detailed knowledge of Danish social and religious history would be needed to fully and accurately answer your question. You might have a better chance at such an answer in the Denmark General forum.

This website claims that in 1850 eleven percent of births in Denmark occured outside of marriage:
http://www.understandingyourancestors.com/ar/parishBirth.asp...

I'll try to help based on my reading in Danish history (limited), study of Danish genealogy boards, and research of Danish records. I'm not an expert.

> "If a single woman became pregnant, did they leave their families because of shame? Was the stigma unbearable that a girl/woman would run away in the 1860s to the USA." < I'm not familiar with a case where a girl left her family out of shame. To the contrary I have seen many many Danish census records where an unmarried daughter and her out-of-wedlock child are living with her parents.

Traditionally the Danish Lutheran church published banns announcing the impending marriage of a couple. At that point it was socially acceptable to live together, no need to wait for the marriage. It was not uncommon for a child to be born and the parents married each other after.

In the case of an unmarried woman bearing a child the birth record notes the birth as illegitimate. The father may or may not acknowledge the child as his. If he does, the child is given his name (the name Jensen for a child of Jens, for example). If he does not, the child is given its mother's name (if she is a Nielsen, then her child will be a Nielsen).

> "What was the Lutheran church's position on this problem? Did they shun their parishioners?" <