Search for content in message boards

Chesser Island, Chesser's from GA and SC, Thomas Samuel Chesser (b. 1776) and more. =)

Replies: 6

Chesser Island, Chesser's from GA and SC, Thomas Samuel Chesser (b. 1776) and more. =)

Samuel Chesser (samiam68) (View posts)
Posted: 29 Aug 2002 9:52PM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: Chesser
My name is Samuel Chesser. I am 34 and currently live in south Florida. I am new to this email group and relatively new to geneology. I stumbled across the Chesser group on Rootsweb, and I thought I would make an attempt to dig a little further into my past.

I was born and raised in Folkston, GA. Yes, THAT Folkston--near the Okefenokee Swamp and Chesser Island. I still visit "home" a couple of times per year. Coincidentally, I worked during high school at the Swamp as a tour guide. (Later, my younger brother did as well.)

Most of the Chesser information that I have collected is from my parents, my grandma, a great aunt (who subsequently passed away), a few other relatives, a couple of books about the Okefenokee and Charlton County, and from a couple of cemetaries near Folkston (Sardis and the one near Traders Hill). I also discovered some really cool "missing info" from Rootsweb which helped me to fill-in a few missing holes on my hand-drawn family tree.

Essentially, here is where I fit into the Chesser line (as best as I can tell) . . .

-I am Samuel N. Chesser.
-My father is Norman Chesser Jr. (living).
-His father was Norman Gray Chesser.
-His father was Wiley L. Chesser (b. 1878).
-His father was Moab Columbus Chesser (b. 1846).
-His father was Willam Thomas Chesser (b. 1812). He was the original "homesteader" on Chesser Island--rumored to have run to the Swamp from murder charges elsewhere in Georgia--charges which were later dropped when it was determined the killing was in self-defense.