Search for content in message boards

Cline Research Project in Kentucky

Replies: 44

Re: Cline Research Project in Kentucky

Posted: 6 Mar 2011 6:30PM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: Cline/Kline/Cylnes
Nicholas b. abt 1774 d.bef 1813 & his son Nicholas b. 1803-1806 d. 1888 in KS. So far I have not been able to connect this Cline family to John Cline b. 1750 Frederick County MD d. 1829 Shelby County KY.

1789 Jefferson County KY tax list of Cline's Clyne-- There are two John Cline's in this part of the State of KY between 1790 & 1810. Through DNA testing I do know they were related but don't believe they are brothers. The Peter Clynes mentioned could be the Peter Cline I believe to be related to John Cline and may in fact be his brother. I have no knowledge of the Joseph mentioned.

The John Cline b. 1750 Frederick County MD came to Shelby County KY about 1781. He purchased land on Tick Creek in Shelby County KY where he built a home for his family and lived there until his death in 1829. I believe his father was Jacob Cline b.1720 Frederick County MD d. bef 1780 Frederick County MD. Have been searching for documents that would prove that they are father and son.

I have no knowledge of a Mr. Cline mentioned in George L. Willis, Sr., History of Shelby County, Kentucky. 1929, 178 Although I have heard about the story I don't think it is any of John Cline's family.

Below--- infomation about Tick Creek area in Shelby County KY and my line of Clines ________________________________________________________________________________________________

The Long Run Massacre
(As told by Moses and Isaiah Boone sons of Squire Boone)
(Draper Mss. 19C33-36, 89-96)
.......Joseph Eastwood's wife, a daughter of Mr. Hansbury, was horribly killed. Mrs. Eastwood was pregnant and her body was ripped open and mangled.