Search for content in message boards

Asa Cobb

Replies: 91

Re: Asa Cobb

Posted: 2 Jan 2009 5:07PM GMT
Classification: Query
Hello,

This is to the Diane who posted the message relative to the Asa Cobb family.

My name is William Neal Cobb, and I am a retired dentist living in northeast Georgia. For quite a few years I have been one of four Cobb descendants researching a southern US branch of the New England Cobb family that descends from Henry Cobb known as the Elder Henry Cobb who came to Plymouth in 1629, lived in Scituate, MA and died in Barnstable, MA.

I descend from a group of Cobb Brothers (four or five) who showed up in Orange County, NC in the 1750's. After several years of exhaustive research, including DNA comparison with a known male descendant of the elder Henry Cobb our group has established that the brothers, Samuel, Cpt. Henry Cobb, Noah Cobb along with sisters Elizabeth and Mary were born to Henry Cobb and Jemima Morse in Pomfret, Windham County, CT in the 1730's. The father Henry Cobb was the son of Samuel Cobb and Elizabeth Taylor Cobb and the grandson of Henry the Elder Cobb and his second wife, Sarah Hinckley Cobb. Henry, the grandson, left Barnstable in the 1720's, settling in Windham County, CT. He evidently bought and sold real estate and acquired some wealth. He next showed up in the Beekman Patent in Dutchess County, NY where he traded in property there, too. It should be noted that Frank Dougherty initially identified the Henry Cobb of the Beekman Patent incorrectly as the Henry Cobb of Stonington, CT (a relative of the Henry of Windham County). I relayed some records of property transactions to Mr. Dougherty showing that it was the Henry Cobb from Barnstable by way of Windham County, CT that was in Dutchess and Westchester Counties in New York. Mr. Dougherty agreed and stated that he would correct his identification of the Henry Cobb in Duchess County.