Search for content in message boards

Craftons from Virginia to Kentucky.

Replies: 7

Re: Craftons from Virginia to Kentucky.

Posted: 20 Sep 2010 8:22PM GMT
Classification: Query
I'm sorry for the long delay in responding. I've been working on getting the website craftonbooks.com up and running and hope to have it on-line in a month or so. It will contain a summary of volume 1 of the book I've been working on for 15 years on the Craftons of Virginia. Volume 1 will be available some time in 2011.

It appears that the Craftons you're interested in are going to be in Volume 2. Since I'm concentrating on volume 1, I've only done some preliminary work on Craftons in your line at this point. So please take the following with a grain of salt...or two.

Armand seems to have been one of three Crafton siblings to marry in Sumner Co., TN between 1826 and 1828. You probably already know the other two: Polly who married Peter Davis and Hezekiah who married Sally Massey. These two marriages were two days apart in August 1826.

My research for volume 1 fails to connect the three Sumner Craftons with any of the Craftons who moved from Lunenburg Co., VA to Middle Tennessee or to Kentucky in the early 1800s. So there's definitely some mystery as to their parentage. I think that these three Craftons may be children of the James Crafton who married Sally C. Davis, the daughter of Henry Davis, in Warren Co., KY on 10 June 1817. Since the three Sumner Craftons married just 9 to 11 years after their presumed father, they could not have been children of the former Sally Davis. They would instead have had to be the product of an earlier marriage of James Crafton.

Based on James Crafton's reported age in the 1820 and 1840 censuses of Warren, he was born in the period 1771-1775 and was, therefore, between 42 and 46 years old when he married in Warren. So it's very likely that James's marriage to Sally Davis in Warren was indeed his second.