Search for content in message boards

Answers to Hodge/Hodges Ancestry Mysteries at Hand

Replies: 7

Answers to Hodge/Hodges Ancestry Mysteries at Hand

Bob Hodges (View posts)
Posted: 23 Apr 2005 1:55PM GMT
Classification: Query
We may be on the verge of solving a great many mysteries about Hodge and Hodges ancestry.

We have a fantastic new tool in Y-DNA matching and a project to compile and compare the results.

My family comes from Franklin County, Virginia. I believe that prior to that, they lived in the Lickinghole Creek are of Goochland County, and are related to the Hodges families there and in Halifax County, Virginia. I have been working for over twenty years to establish the connections between the Hodge/Hodges families and I believe many of them have a common origin.

If you are in a line of direct male descent and your family is one of the following, taking the test and submitting your results to compare with mine will help answer the questions how these Hodge/Hodges families are related and help us focus in on where we came from:

John Hodges of Goochland Co., Va. 1728-59 and his sons Johnson, William, Joseph, Thomas or David

Welcome William Hodges of Goochland County and his sons Benjamin, Jesse, and William

Robert Hodges, early settler in Franklin Co., Va. and his presumed sons Robert, Isham, William and John. Isham’s sons were Isham, Aaron and Asa of Sumner Co., Tenn., Robert, William and Moses. Moses Hodge appears to have died in Scioto Co., Ohio. William's and Robert's descendants are also found in Putnam Co., W.Va.

Shadrack, Meshack and Abednego Hodges of Franklin Co., Va. Shadrack and/or Meshack thought to be ancestors of the Hodge family of Knox-Clay-Laurel Cos., Ky.

Josiah Hodges of Franklin Co., Va. and his sons John “Redhead”, Isham, Joel, Abner and Ephraim. Abner and Ephraim moved to White and Van Buren Cos., Tenn.

William Hodges of Lawrence Co., Ala.