Search for content in message boards

William Jeffrey

Replies: 22

Re: William Jeffrey

Posted: 4 Mar 2008 8:07AM GMT
Classification: Query
To all Jeffrey Cousins.
I have been researching my Jeffrey ancestors for the past 30 years and accumulated much informaiton. The progeneator of my Jeffey family, Francis Jeffrey, imigrated to the US and bought land in Monmouth County, NJ in 1650. The relatives and decendants of Francis Jeffrey ended up owning and running about 6 different large plantations in Eastern New Jersey. Those early decendants that did not inherit any of these lands struck out for other states to get their own land. In the 1700s and 1800s they migrated to South Carolina, North Corolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Ohio and Indiana. By the end of the 1800s their decendants had all forgotten who their ancestors were and where they came from. I estimate that there were about 2,000 Jeffrey cousins living in New Jersey during the 1890s. Now, in 2008, there are only a few still in New Jersey. I was eventually able to trace out their travels by the names of towns, places, events, newspaper clippigs, historical writings and compairing them to the available geneology information, population and tax records. While this method leads to theory and assumptions, it has been heart warming when I can verify that I have possibly found relatives. I have been reluctant to contact apparent relatives because of not wanting to intrude on people who are not interested in geneology and their opersonal ancestors. Having said that, my information indicates that the Jeffrey people you are discussing migrated from Monmouth, NJ, stayed in North and South Carolins for a generation, then some migrated to West Virginia for a generateion, and then some of those migrated to Ohio. Whether or not they knew their Jeffrey cousins that had migrated to Ohio at about the same time they migrated to the Carolinas I do not know. The Jeffrey family that migrated to Ohio from Monmouth, NJ eventually b