Search for content in message boards

Is There Really a Pierre Jouett?

Replies: 0

Is There Really a Pierre Jouett?

Posted: 26 Jul 2009 10:04AM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: Jouett, Ruddock, Bailey, Brown, Tanner, Moore, Duncan, Robards, and many more
I have been researching the Jouett family for more than 10 years and I have been asking the same question about Pierre “Peter” Jouett and Matthew Jouett: Are they one in the same person? Today I am more convinced than ever that this is the case. I am looking for someone to provide DOCUMENTED EVIDNECE that Pierre “Peter” Jouett exist as a separate person. I know that Pierre is mentioned in the wills of his Mother and Father (listed below) and I know he is also listed on the passenger list from New York to the Carolinas in 1695/1696. But could it have been that Pierre Matthew Jouett? Could it be that Pierre changed his name or took his middle name as his first name? Why would he do this? Well, His family left France because of persecution, they then arrived in the Americas by way of Rhode Island where again they were persecuted and were forced to leave and they then moved to New York. So could it be that Pierre decided to go by Matthew as it sounds more British (English) rather than Peter or Pierre that is quite French? The other point that I would like to make that other than these three references to Pierre we see no more, yet with all of his brothers and sisters I find all sorts of documentation on them. Below are some examples of all documentation that I have uncovered. I would hope to find someone who will have the documented information for the proof of Pierre Jouett.

So let me see if we can make any sense of all of this:
Below are three different items that have different information on Pierre/Peter Jouet and Matthew Jouett: