Search for content in message boards

reids from scotland

Replies: 3

Reid Clan

John Reid (View posts)
Posted: 24 Jul 2000 3:43PM GMT
I copied this from previous pagesSubject: The Reid Clan

Posted by: Karen Stanley

Saw your message, and thought you might be interested in seeing what I posted on the Clan. If you'll go back a few pages (10+) to 1/4/00, I've sent a message to my cousin on the clan. The Reid Clan, is the title.

We are included in the Donnachaidh Clan, which is also the clan of the Robertsons.

Donnachaidh is pronounced "donna-key"

Good luck on your search...it's jolly good fun!
..........................................................................................................................
Message #202 Monday, January 10, 2000
Subject: The Clan (more than you asked for!!)

Posted by: Karen Stanley
Message: Well, I'm not an expert by any means; but will tell you what I do know.

Dad used to tell me that the Reid's in Scotland had their own Clan and plaid. I carried that thought with me over the years and in 1995 saw an advertisement for "The Scottish Highland Games and Gathering of the Clans" in our local newspaper. Bud and I decided to go and take it all in, and it was delightful. The population of Scotland used to be by "clans" and would unite together or fight against other clans. I don't know if the clans were just "regions" or villages, or if actually joined by marriage. Probably both. (It would be nice to have someone knowledgeable dialog about this on-line). Clans had chieftans.

Well, when we visited the booths at the gathering of the clans, we discovered the Reid Clan. Clan Donnachaidh seems to be headed by the Robertsons, but has many other surnames included, such as, Collier, Dobbin, Duncan, Hobson, MacRobert, MacRobie, Reed, Reid, Robbie, Roberts, Robison, Roy, Stark and Tonnochy. And many others.