Search for content in message boards

Tips for Using Third Party Autosomal DNA Sites

Replies: 26

Tips for Using Third Party Autosomal DNA Sites

Posted: 29 Jun 2013 5:07PM GMT
Classification: Query
A couple of people have mentioned that they are finding it challenging to navigate FTDNA's Family Finder. I thought I'd start a thread where we can share experiences and tips for using FTDNA, Gedmatch, 23andMe and DNAGedcom to supplement our Ancestry DNA matching.

I've been using FTDNA for a couple of years and agree that the interface can be a little confusing. When you first log on you get a home page with some icons and drop down menus. I'll confine my comments here to using Family Finder.

There is a "Learn More" item on the menu that gives the basics of the various links. It's worth perusing this before you start.

Usually you will want to start with your Matches. When you click it you will get a list of matches in order of the estimated relationship that FTDNA has computed. Their matching algorithm is different from Ancestry's. It requires *both* a largest segment of at least 7cM *and* a total shared cM of at least 20. You can sort your matches on any of the columns by clicking the column heading.

Each match has a profile that you can read by clicking on the name. Some are very complete and useful, others are completely blank. Some also have uploaded a gedcom, indicated by a little family tree icon. If you click it the gedcom will open in a new window. They are quite primitive by Ancestry.com standards but can provide useful leads. Note that the default in the gedcoms is 4 generations, but you can use a drop-down box to increase that to 9. For many of your matches you will also see a set of surnames on the far right. This has either been manually entered or derived from the gedcom. Again, there may be valuable clues in this list.