Search for content in message boards

DNA tests a waste of money?

Replies: 15

Re: DNA tests a waste of money?

Posted: 24 Oct 2010 7:56AM GMT
Classification: Query
Edited: 24 Oct 2010 9:04AM GMT
I am not sure what the purpose of you and your brother taking all the tests. DNA testing is a definite expense. The only reason I could see to take all of the tests available is curiosity. Well - that is a lot of money to spend for the sake of curiosity.

DNA testing is very effective if you get the specific tests done to answer your specific interests and concerns. I administer a Surname site. The goal of the site for me is to find my specific paternal line, but also to better align the variations of the surname that we have seen.

I have been doing research on this line since 1999. I was having trouble finding anything at all prior to my gggggrandfather - before Missouri statehood, when the area belonged to France and then Spain. When Illinois was considered a country - and prior.

There are many of us researching the same lines and we keep running into each other research-wise, but we weren't able to break through. So one of the women I had been researching with since about 2004 or 5 had her brother take a DNA test. It turns out he is an exact match to my father.

Learning this helped us to focus our research efforts together. We met recently (2 weeks ago) in Missouri (I'm in California and she in Colorado) and we did a geneology road trip. We finally - after all these years were able to get substantiate one more generation and we identified several very rich areas to continue - but we need better documentation still.

The DNA testing forced us to really look at our ancestors to find how we are related. As we learned more on our 10 day trip we hypothesized about the information we were finding and how it all could fit together. We spoke about the possibilities on several occaisions throughout the trip.