Search for content in message boards

Private Trees and DNA Contacts

Replies: 300

Re: Private Trees and DNA Contacts

Posted: 22 Feb 2013 10:40AM GMT
Classification: Query
Marthe,

I don't disagree with your reasoning at all, but I do keep my main tree private because there is a lot of speculation I don't want propagated – I’m still very new at all this. I did however make a stripped down version with relatively accurate names, dates and places that is attached to my DNA for precisely the reasons you mentioned.

I think the problem is we assume people take the DNA test to connect with cousins or help fill out their trees and I don’t think that's necessarily the case. You can tell by the topics on this board that many people are focused on the ethnic breakdowns and either don't want to (or have the time) to go through other than very close matches or ones with hints. Think about how this is advertised – it says send us your DNA and we'll tell you where you came from. There is nothing about you then spending massive amounts of time following up, and I'd be willing to be many people do not. As mentioned on another thread there are also a lot of "undernourished" public trees with less than 10 people probably for the same reason, and those don't help us either. And yet another issue you see are people who haven't even bothered to attach a tree to their results even if they have one, leaving us to guess who they are in their tree or trees.