Demont F Morenzy ships surgeon

Replies: 6

Re: Demont F Morenzy ships surgeon

Posted: 25 Jan 2013 7:54AM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: Morenzy, De MontMorency
Hi,

Hope I've got the right person!

I'm a family researcher myself and I happened across your queries over the last few years, reference a person called Morenzy. My understanding is that he was a descendant of the Irish De Montmorency family (County Kilkenny). This was a big widespread well-off aristrocratic family in the late 1700's and early to mid 1800's. They were a junior branch of even older and more aristocratic sister families in Europe and UK. The mainland European branch goes back many centuries, and even in Victorian time their links with the Irish branch were already very weak. Some parts of the early family in Ireland and UK were originally called Morres, and their main estates were at Mount Morres. This was convenient because it enabled them to use the name De Mount Morres to strengthen their dying hold on their De Montmorency name....this slight of hand wasn't universally popular with the family fathers in Europe!