Search for content in message boards

John Browne Hope (1898-1930)

Replies: 10

John Browne Hope (1898-1930)

Posted: 17 Jan 2014 2:02PM GMT
Classification: Query
Surnames: Hope, Best
Hello everyone! I am fairly new to genealogy and just began tapping into the resources on Ancestry.com for building out my family tree! I have hit a bit of a brick wall for one of my relatives, partly because his name was so common in London, partly because he was a domestic servant and did not seem to be a part of a "traditional" household captured in censuses, and also because he died quite young - approx. 32 years of age.

I wonder if anyone might have ideas for other resources to look into, or perhaps documents I might purchase that could shed additional information on my search and help me break through this brick wall!!

My great grandfather was named "John Browne Hope." He was British, born around 1898 and died in 1930. He married Irene Florence Elizabeth Best in the summer of 1924 and they had one child, my grandfather, Anthony John Hope, born 5 Jun 1925 at the Dudley House on Beaumont Street (although many records, including his birth certificate, list him as John Anthony).

John Browne Hope's marriage, son's birth and death all happened in the Marylebone district of London, so he may also have been born there, although I have not located his birth certificate yet. The birth certificate for my grandfather mentions his father was a domestic butler, and an address is listed as 1 Seaford Court, 220 Great Portland Street, St. Marylebone.