Search for content in message boards

Heir Hunter Advice

Replies: 3

Heir Hunter Advice

Posted: 31 Aug 2013 5:51AM GMT
Classification: Query
I am a researcher based in Scotland and I have been reading these threads with great interest so I wanted to pass on some advice to anyone who has been contacted by someone claiming to be a probate researcher (Heir Hunter).

There are lots of researchers who provide a good service and if they contact you, you should be able to ask any question's you wish. Many researchers are one man/woman business's like myself.

We fund all the research ourselves and will put everything in writing for you. If you are contacted you may be entitled to a share of the estate being researched but if someone closer to the deceased is found you may not end up with a share. A good researcher would explain this to you.

Some researcher's like myself are registered with an organisation called The Heir Hunter's association and any potential heir can contact them directly to ask if the researcher who has contacted them is with them and ask if they are genuine. If the researcher is not with the HHA you can ask the researcher to provide details of the solicitor they use.

If the estate in question is on the Treasury Solicitor's list in England (TSoL) or Scotland (QLTR) you can contact them directly and ask if the estate in question exists. You can also ask the treasury if they have had any dealing with a particular Heir Hunter.

All researchers should be registered with the Information Commissioner’s Office so that they are governed by the DATA protection laws and should provide you with their own personal registration number so that you can check.

If a company is genuine they may or may not have an internet presence depending on the age of the researcher, not everyone is internet wise but they should all have business cards, letter headed paper etc.