Search for content in message boards

Fixing duplicates and re-synching

Replies: 14

Re: Fixing duplicates and re-synching

Posted: 10 Aug 2012 5:27PM GMT
Classification: Query
Rosemary,

Thanks for the advice. That's more of a last resort for me because I really don't want to delete my Ancestry tree. Ancestry is where I've done all the work and FTM was more of a backup. I'm too afraid that I'll lose information given all the sync errors FTM was giving me.

It's looking like my best bet in order to keep the tree is to go through and manually delete the copies of everyone. It'll be time consuming, but at least in the end it'll be right and I won't lose all my links and sources. I don't trust FTM to have synced them all properly, and I really don't want to have to upload ALL those images again (there are a lot of pictures on our tree!).

I guess what I was asking was, when syncing between the two, I know it will add new people to the un-updated tree, but will it also delete people that have been removed?

Auto-sync is definitely off. And will stay that way forever. In fact, I may never sync again once I get this fixed. I don't use FTM enough for it to be worth the trouble!

Thanks again,
Allison
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
AllisonPJ 10 Aug 2012 8:00PM GMT 
tulrose 10 Aug 2012 8:19PM GMT 
AllisonPJ 10 Aug 2012 11:27PM GMT 
tulrose 11 Aug 2012 12:33AM GMT 
AllisonPJ 11 Aug 2012 1:10AM GMT 
Barbara Taylo... 11 Aug 2012 2:00AM GMT 
AllisonPJ 11 Aug 2012 3:23PM GMT 
silverfox3280 10 Aug 2012 8:37PM GMT 
AllisonPJ 10 Aug 2012 11:22PM GMT 
Melstrup 21 Oct 2012 1:59PM GMT 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic