Search for content in message boards

Fixing duplicates and re-synching

Replies: 14

Re: Fixing duplicates and re-synching

Posted: 10 Aug 2012 5:22PM GMT
Classification: Query
Sorry about the confusion. It wasn't just my FTM file that had the problems. The sync errors created duplicates in both FTM and on Ancestry.com. Because FTM has the merge duplicates option, I did the clean-up there, and am now trying to see if I can sync FTM back to Ancestry and erase those duplicates. But I'm starting to think that won't work.

Right now, my tree on Ancestry has about 200-300 people with 3 extra copies. So instead of one John Smith I have 4. Easy enough to fix when it's only a couple of people, but there are hundreds duplicated to that extent.

Ancestry, however, is where I do everything. FTM was really more of a backup to me, and I rarely used it. This all happened because I opened the program by mistake once and it auto-synced, got errors, etc. But because Ancestry is my main tree, I really don't want to trash it and upload FTM's file to it. I'm afraid I'll lose all the Ancestry source links that way.

My question was really when you sync the two programs, will Ancestry see that I've deleted these people and delete them from the online tree as well, or will it keep the duplicates and add them back to FTM, even though FTM's file is the more recent? Am I better off taking the time to delete them manually?

Thanks for the help!
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
AllisonPJ 10 Aug 2012 8:00PM GMT 
tulrose 10 Aug 2012 8:19PM GMT 
AllisonPJ 10 Aug 2012 11:27PM GMT 
tulrose 11 Aug 2012 12:33AM GMT 
AllisonPJ 11 Aug 2012 1:10AM GMT 
Barbara Taylo... 11 Aug 2012 2:00AM GMT 
AllisonPJ 11 Aug 2012 3:23PM GMT 
silverfox3280 10 Aug 2012 8:37PM GMT 
AllisonPJ 10 Aug 2012 11:22PM GMT 
Melstrup 21 Oct 2012 1:59PM GMT 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic