Search for content in message boards

Moving a synced tree from one computer to another without losing the sync - is it possible?

Replies: 1

Moving a synced tree from one computer to another without losing the sync - is it possible?

Posted: 1 Nov 2012 10:31PM GMT
Classification: Query
Until last month when I wanted to move a FTM tree from one computer to another I would simply copy the files/folders to the other computer and open them. Easy with no problems.

But last month I synced one tree to share with a cousin.

This month I needed to move the FTM files/folders to a new computer. I again did the copy the files/folders to the new computer. Those un-synced trees had no problems.

But before I opened the synced tree I looked but did not find any documentation on the proper way to move a synced tree between computers and not lose the syncing and invitees and any comments they had made to the online tree.

I ended up opening the FTM tree (that was synced) on the new computer. It did not show it as synced to its online version and I could find no way to point out to the program that these two items are synced.

I ended up doing a new sync and trying to give the online tree the same name as the prior synced tree. (Hoping it would update.) I thought it worked but after closing and opening FTM it then showed TWO online trees of the SAME NAME. Viewing them I figured out the one synced to the file on the new computer and the other to the file on the old computer. I ended up inviting the cousin to the "new" online tree. (The new and old online trees are from the exact same FTM tree - I made no changes other than copy and move it to another computer.)

After copying the about this tree info from the old to the new online tree, I deleted the older synced online tree. (With the FTM file on the original laptop (and internet off)and made sure it wasn't going to try to sync to a non-existant online tree and then renamed the tree to COPY_treename.)

Luckily my cousin hadn't made any comments to the online tree or I would have lost those.

Was there a better way to do this? Is there a proper way to move a synced tree between computers and not lose the syncing and invitees and any comments they had made to the online tree?

NOTE: I did not download the online tree to the new computer because the FTM tree file on the computer has more info than what is put into the online synced tree. (Read the manual as to what does and does not get put online/synced.) I didn't want to lose all that work/information.

In this case it did not matter too much (one invitee and no added comments online) other than frustration that it should be able to do this but does not appear to do it.

ANCESTRY if you are reading this take note for doing things better with syncing in the next/future update.

What is the point of letting invitees make comments, etc. if you can't easily keep a FTM tree and it's online synced tree connected. That's lots of potential information lost.
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
goneresearchi... 2 Nov 2012 4:31AM GMT 
tulrose 2 Nov 2012 4:53AM GMT 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic