Search for content in message boards

Which software has priority?

Replies: 14

Which software has priority?

Posted: 27 Dec 2012 1:45PM GMT
Classification: Query
I found a duplicated ancestor in my family tree in Ancestry.Com (Ancestry added this duplicate person, I did not). I carefully clicked 'edit' on the duplicate person and chose 'delete this person'. However Ancestry deleted the whole 200-yr branch back from this person...including his wife and her branch! Unfortunately, 'UNDO' refused to undo the deletion! I hoped that going to my copy of FTM would allow FTM to sync to Ancestry and replace the deleted branch. After activating FTM, the 'lost' branch was displayed correctly in FTM! BUT as soon as 'sync' locked FTM to Ancestry...the branches in FTM also was completely deleted without my permission!
Luckily, I had backed up my complete FTM file yesterday.
Using Restore I was able to repair the FTM deletion.
But I am not sure what will happen next when Ancestry takes command of both software packages.
Is there someway to prevent Ancestry syncing with FTM and deleting branch sections without permission?
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
cl_nelson 27 Dec 2012 8:45PM GMT 
silverfox3280 27 Dec 2012 10:41PM GMT 
sl_kelly 27 Dec 2012 10:54PM GMT 
cl_nelson 28 Dec 2012 12:46AM GMT 
sl_kelly 28 Dec 2012 1:18AM GMT 
cl_nelson 28 Dec 2012 4:49AM GMT 
sl_kelly 28 Dec 2012 4:59AM GMT 
BurgessDonnel... 28 Dec 2012 5:04AM GMT 
sturdy2 28 Dec 2012 6:57PM GMT 
BurgessDonnel... 28 Dec 2012 1:53AM GMT 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic