It didn't occur to me that there were multiple files and that they were being saved client side (on my computer) in such a way that complicated the sync process. Thanks for the clarification.
One other question - I think I would prefer to use the program on my desktop, which was the second install and therefore doesn't allow the sync.
Would uninstalling it from the first computer (the laptop) where it is currently working be sufficient for the second installation to know it was the only one in use? Or would I have to uninstall both programs then re-install only on the desktop?
Also I noticed a rather ominous warning message about uninking at tree, something like "unlinking the tree cannot be undone, and once unlinked, these trees cannot be linked together again" so I concerned about how to proceed.