Search for content in message boards

Corrupted data migrating backwards into backup files?

Replies: 7

Corrupted data migrating backwards into backup files?

Posted: 7 Feb 2013 1:25PM GMT
Classification: Query
This is a weird set of circumstances, and I am hoping there is some help here on this.

For the record, I am on Windows 8, running FTM 2012 (newest updated version).

Last night while my laptop three up a "blue screen of death" while I was working on a census citation for an individual in my file. I had other programs open so I am not convinced it was FTM that caused this, but who knows.

After rebooting, and doing a few other things, I go back into FTM. I'm working on the same individual, but I notice that the place location has changed on its own. Instead of being "Boone, Indiana, USA" it is now "Marlborough, Middlesex, Massachusetts, USA". And this is for all of the place locations on his record -- not just that one fact. If I go into the place locations and go to Marlborough, he does not show up in that list. But, also Boone does not show up under Indiana. While I do not have many people in Boone, Indiana, there should have been a few entries there.

I had a similiar case of data corruption in December (this time with locales in Wisconsin). At that time I restored from a backup and all was fine. So, I decided to restore from the backup from the morning. Set that to run and went to bed (it takes too long to process since my tree is synced to the online tree and it was late). When I got up int he morning to go to work I checked in on the program. It was done, and I looked in on my person. The location was still messed up!

This is weird. The backup from the morning should have had the correct place name. I know this, becuase it was there before the crash. Also, I had synced online files before the backup that morning -- and if you look at my online tree the place location is correct there.

I am currently trying to restore from the backup file one older than I had done -- to see if the problem remains. If it does, what are my options? While I know the data in my online tree is good I am afraid that in syncing the "wrong" place data will be kept. I also do not want to just download the family file from onine -- the online file does not have all the Notes and research notes on people. (Or at least not that I can see).

Is the place name part of the software itself? It occured to me that I might have to reinstall FTM in order to clear up this faulty place location.

Does anyone have any ideas?
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
Shalandara 7 Feb 2013 8:25PM GMT 
johndd189 7 Feb 2013 10:50PM GMT 
Shalandara 7 Feb 2013 11:16PM GMT 
BurgessDonnel... 7 Feb 2013 11:28PM GMT 
johndd189 7 Feb 2013 11:38PM GMT 
Sherlock_Bone... 8 Feb 2013 1:04AM GMT 
Shalandara 8 Feb 2013 10:31AM GMT 
VIRBLAKE 8 Feb 2013 2:10PM GMT 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic

  • Visit our other sites:

© 1997-2014 Ancestry.com | Corporate Information | New Privacy | Terms and Conditions