Search for content in message boards

losing "originally submitted by" attribute when uploading tree

Replies: 2

losing "originally submitted by" attribute when uploading tree

Posted: 14 Feb 2013 8:34PM GMT
Classification: Query
Anyone else have Ancestry members get mad at you for uploading a media item that they originally submitted that now shows you as the original submitter.

I changed computers and had to reload FTM. Unfortunately, I hadn't synced with ancestry so the FTM file was more recent. Apparently, when I uploaded the tree from FTM all of the "originally submitted by" info was reset to me.

I now have someone posting disparaging comments in my tree. Am I doing something wrong with the upload process? I certainly don't intend to not give credit where it's due, but it would be impossible to remember who submitted all of the media files in my tree. Anyone know a way around this?

I've also found several items that I submitted that are now attributed to others. I've started adding the info into the details section when I upload so I can avoid linking media that is already in my tree.
SubjectAuthorDate Posted
messinian70 15 Feb 2013 3:34AM GMT 
BurgessDonnel... 15 Feb 2013 3:55AM GMT 
sl_kelly 15 Feb 2013 6:55AM GMT 
per page

Find a board about a specific topic